higure: ((Kat-tun) Maru: they say I´m crazy)
[personal profile] higure
... I have however missed you all terribly.

The past week or 9 days as it is now have been the longest days of my life, or so they have felt, and even now, typing this, it is just me being impatient. It´s taking too long and I can hardly see what I am writing, but I want to give it a try.

Not that you cared that much where and why I have disappeared so abruptly (not that I can blame you), still I want to tell you. I´ve been thinking of how to for several days now (as I really had nothing better to do) and every time the entry I came up with in my head was too long. I felt like drawing a time line at one point. Sorry if this still ends up too confusing and too unimportant, what matters is that more or less I can tell which buttons of my keyboard I am pressing down.

As you probably all now (since I have been bragging about it for days and even months now) I was to undergo the laser/excimer/ whatever eye surgery to get rid of my glasses. That was to happen on 28th of January and before that I was to have a week to finish up some stuff at work and to get another chapter of my thesis done.

Last time I posted (and saw the PC screen properly, as it turned out later on) was on January 23rd, Saturday, and all seemed well and going in the right direction. I wrote some drabbles and had fun that day. I even managed to get some stuff for my thesis done. It seems like all the stress of previous exams and other matters has disappeared, slowly resolved into nothing but a good mood I had when going to bed. Only that my body might have had one too many hours of PC screen time and one too many stressful thoughts and that night, it went on strike.

On Sunday 24th I woke up and could hardly open (unglue?) my eyes. They were heavily lidded with the “nice and pleasant” side effects of raging conjunctivitis (my first ever). Let´s not even talk about thesis and work and all the things I had planned to do in the next three days. Let´s talk about the fact that I was to undergo a freaking eye surgery in four days. To be performed on eyes suffering at the time of some serious inflammation.

Or not, let´s make it short and sweet (impossible I say). On Sunday, I wrote one more drabble (and it took me all day, more or less like writing this entry) in an effort to persuade myself that all will be fine and will get better. It did not and so the next day I went to work to tell I won´t be able to finish my assignment (I want to cry) and called home and alarmed my mother who didn’t help by freaking out and went to bank and ran around Brno like a mad man (not seeing much) in an attempt to finish all that needed acute finishing.

I was home that night (as in I took a train, spend almost 3 hours travelling and my eyes were red just as Rudolf´s nose upon arriving home) and started treatment. Luckily my panicked mother is an active mother (family trait, I think XD). So she had gone and talked things over with an ophthalmologist and got me antibiotic eye drops. I didn´t look at a computer for other purposes than answering the most pressing school emails for next few days, didn´t watch TV, or read. I just existed. I baked and cooked to keep me occupied. And waited. For a verdict. It came on Thursday and it said that yes they would in fact be able to go ahead and cut and burn my eyes with laser. Ever since then, again, I just exist.

The recovery was not nicest and I am seeing even less than when I started writing this entry, so I will spare you the details. I went for a check-up yesterday though and the doctor says it was going fairly well. Meaning I wear sunglasses only outside by now ( I have never been so compelled to write a vampire au fic in my life, I mean I now know how it feel to seek the dark, the light is my enemy), I see during the day and squint against light during the night and need only a couple of “zoom ins” when checking my emails. (It is frustrating I can not just completely ignore them) Looking at a PC or TV screen hurts and I see much less when using electronics. I also am far sighted for a change, a side effect that should dissolve but for now it means that I still can´t read much.

I went for a pedicure, am going for a massage, listen to tons of Sherlock Holmes audio book (this and my cooking will appear in a separate shining post when I feel like it) and have more cooking planned. I try to ignore my panicking mode when it comes to my school obligations, and still mostly just exist. I have slept so much I feel like I won´t ever sleep again. It might sound great, but it just has been long long hours of staring at nothing, of eyes hurting, mind swirling and time between allowed eye drop applications stopping.

I seriously hope it will get better soon. I am optimistic and this is not me complaining, it is just informing you and my future self of how it felt. A book and newspapers are becoming an option slowly, though I really need to be able to use computer. I will try. In the meantime I swear at the tons of snow falling down. I do not remember a winter like this, so much snow and so cold. It´d be better if snow didn´t reflect the light so much, making everything so sharp and bright. Not to mention one of my fic challenges, coincidently the one I am running all alone, has a deadline coming up in a few days. That´s what I get for believing the doctors. They said that by Monday at latest (which was 2 days ago) I´ll be able to work, use PC and won´t hurt. Lies, lies, lies …

Oh and my sister is back home. HOORAY!!! I really do lead a nice life right now. If I ignore that little “I can´t work, read or watch any videos (or drive, excessive, swim, weld, get pregnant, …)” problem. In my opinion, my eyes need training. I can´t spoil them by not using them all the time. So I will train them, make them come back to normal by replying to all emails from now on and by slowly replying to comments that I have ignored. And maybe, just maybe, catching up on what you have been doing these past 9 days.

Or will you tell me? Or did you die of boredom reading this health report and never got this far?

Date: 2010-02-03 09:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] creamy-amande.livejournal.com
You're baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaackkkk!!!
Let me read now!

DONE!

Wah you wrote that alright!

I missed YOU
I missed YOU
I missed YOU
I missed YOU
I missed YOU
I missed YOU
I missed YOU

Why do you say that we don't care or else, since the closest knew about your eye surgery and many knew about it because you talked about it many times!!!
Don't say we don't care!
Yes you didn't warn us before leaving but it's okay really, LJ has been weird lately anyway and many didn't update on their lives, but you had the surgery! Plus yeah the thesis, and work. Totally understandable!

It came on Thursday and it said that yes they would in fact be able to go ahead and cut and burn my eyes with laser
you really sound angsty here you know that? And I know you were scared of that surgery I can feel it here more.

Vampire Alex? Vampire Alex as an OC in a fiction??? XDDD

Yeah I remember you said the doctors told you you'd be able to work alright after a few days, and yes there's that fic challenge you made...I hope you won't stress too much over it and that you don't squint too much and maybe "zoom-in" more like Ninka said to me...

[...](or drive, excessive, swim, weld, get pregnant, …)”
ROFL~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hmm you could try read my recent posts if you want, only going out, shopping, spending money on clothes and not only food for once...
Edited Date: 2010-02-03 10:37 pm (UTC)

Date: 2010-02-04 06:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
I am partially back, nowhere near full strength
, but ...
I did not wanted to sound accusing about not caring, I just meant I know you all had many on your plates as well. I also didn´t want to disappear without warning, but because I got sick before the surgery it could not be helped.

I have skimmed through your post, I see you had some time off and even went to see a bit of "tourist sights" between your shopping, it all sounded like fun! I am just still kind of careful with PC time, that´s why I asked XD

But it is good to be back!

Date: 2010-02-03 10:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] chivakaza.livejournal.com
( I have never been so compelled to write a vampire au fic in my life, I mean I now know how it feel to seek the dark, the light is my enemy)

I totally laughed my ass off on this XD
and omfg I don´t understand how you all can be so happy I am home...you are weird!!! XD

Date: 2010-02-04 06:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
XDDD I did smirk every time I thought of it as well ... given my views on vampire au-s

and after today, are you still confused as to why I am glad to have you "back?"

Date: 2010-02-03 11:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tokeruyouna.livejournal.com
So glad to see you back and not entirely nonfunctional (who needs to weld, anyway?!)! I hope you are entirely better soon! Vampire AU, actually sounds nice . . . it has been a while since I have read one. I have Saturday-Monday off, so if you need any help with the fic exchange stuff, talk to me. ♥

Date: 2010-02-04 06:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
who needs to weld ... apparently I looked like a person with inclination to do so ;D
Vampire AU is not really my thing a all, that is why I find it so amusing I feel urges to write one ;D
Thanks for the offer, I was asked to provide a beta today actually, so maybe, maybe I might actually take you up on the offer. I´ll see ... Would you mind? IDK how long it is yet, so it is nothing tangible yet ...

Date: 2010-02-04 09:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tokeruyouna.livejournal.com
I would not mind betaing. Just hook me up with the participant if you need me to!

Date: 2010-02-04 01:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crystallekil.livejournal.com
i totally read all of that because i've been considering lasik. i understand there's a recovery period but anymore than a week and it's completely out of the question for me. i'll be interested to see how long it takes you to see well enough to work again, now is about seven days yes?

i missed you, i hope you are well enough to *see* me soon. ♥

Date: 2010-02-04 06:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
Anyway we talked about the surgery and already today´s much better. and today is actually exactly a week since it has taken place, so I am optimistic ;DDD

And I do hope so as well to get back on track soon, so I can "see" and talk and flail and spoil away with you <3

Date: 2010-02-04 03:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sanjihan.livejournal.com
Oh man. I'm sorry to hear about all the bad, but I'm glad there's some good! I hope you recover quickly!!

Date: 2010-02-04 06:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
I see a light at the end of a tunnel (and do not cringe at seeing it anymore) so I am an optimist XD I think I am lucky to have my family around for the recovery time, but maybe the frustration got better of me when I wrote the post. I am mostly fine now and suffer from short and selective memory, so I believe the good will be the only thing that stays behind soon.

Date: 2010-02-04 04:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] space-sick.livejournal.com
I thought that was why I didn't see you online but I couldn't remember when you said your surgery was going to be. but you are back ♥ ♥ ♥ I took a bit of a hiatus so I am sorry if I missed your entries before this one!
The way you describe how red your eyes were ;__; I really hope you are okay and will recover fully soon. Take your time training your eyes.

side note: vampire fic XD

Date: 2010-02-04 06:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
I went back today and you didn´t miss anything. I was away longer than you XDDD am glad you are back!!! And if all goes well I´ll be as well. <3

Date: 2010-02-04 11:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dephi.livejournal.com
Welcome back! Miss me as well? :p

Date: 2010-02-04 06:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
I DID!!! ♥

Date: 2010-02-04 01:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] myxstorie.livejournal.com
I was wondering where you'd gotten to ♥ I'm so sorry to hear about your eyes, that sounds nasty >_<;

I won't leave a long comment, because I'm sure it's hard enough for you to read them all so far without me adding to the list, so just.. I hope you get well soon, ne ♥

Date: 2010-02-04 06:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
I am glad it is over but as far as the surgery goes it was my decision, I have to carry the consequences ;D

I will get better soon, I believe and I hoe you get your eye check up soon, as I´ve seen you talking about it today, when reading through my fpage!!! Take care of those two holes in your head, they are precious!

Date: 2010-02-04 05:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] beltenebra.livejournal.com
Oh, babydoll. I feel your pain. We both have conjunctivitis at the same time! Mine is due to an injury but I Absolutely understand the light sensitivity, the headaches, the gross goopeyness.... thr frustration at not being able to See anything, dammit!

::hugs:: I really really hope you start feeling better soon!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Date: 2010-02-04 07:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sashjun.livejournal.com
It´s funny how we were probably reading each other´s entry at the same time. I am glad you got the antibiotics, and from my experience they will do their job soon. I would have been fine already if not for the laser surgery but that was totally my decision, so I am not the one that should whine. I was taken good care off. I hope you will recover soon and we will flail over something more pleasant next time ;D

Date: 2010-02-06 01:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] naoryuu.livejournal.com
I didn't die XD
Yet.

I knew something about your surgery coming, but I didn't know the date or what,...

Despite your current handicap, you wrote it very well, and I am glad to hear you will be okay.. So .. hold on.

And don't overdo it~

In a very small part, I can sympathize with you, because neither I cannot see what I am writing at the momnet.. but that is because of my retarded PC. lol.

Profile

higure: (Default)
higure

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 09:40 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios